Who is VT.inno?

VT.inno - Untitled Nite

Home

Wang Yiting (aka VT.inno) sent me a nearly complete EP as a demo for Pinecone Moonshine. The use of odd harmonies and melodies caught my attention right away. The variety of sounds showcased a number of techniques. And aesthetically it had the PCMS feel and sound. So I asked if we could make the demo into a solo EP.

Her demo arrived at a good time. We had Kop-Z’s drum and bass EP planned for early in 2022 followed by a long gap until the vinyl project which was delayed from 2021. I felt it would be a good time to put out something that strayed far from drum and bass.

Below is VT.inno's interview about her music. Click play and read along:

What software/equipment do you use and where do you work on your music?

VT.inno: I mainly do music in my home studio now. Ableton Live, a linear pcm recorder, Reaktor, Korg minilogue, some effects units, EPM12, and Push 2. But I recently sold some.

How did you hear about PCMS?

VT.inno: One day when I started looking for all the works from K-Chaos [another Pinecone Moonshine artist].

What environment works best for your music?

VT.inno: If it's dance music and works well on specific pro club speakers, at least the technical part of the track is fantastic. But I usually test in different environments when finished, even in the car.

What style or category of music do you make?

VT.inno: Ambient, Abstract, Experimental, Noise, Drum and Bass, IDM, Techno...

Imagination is always important to me. When I was little, it was usually concrete, not just music but other senses. Nature teaches me a lot about randomness and regularity.

The mode and chords of traditional culture have a great influence on me. I also listen to lots of various genres and styles of music.

The long-term training in the music academy is also influential. I was a freak in school, at least for them. I believe in the universe rather than some small system built by former people.

Can you tell us more about the academy?

VT.inno: It's ZheJiang Music Academy in Hangzhou.

Actually, I'm in the music education major for piano and bel canto, but I like the harmony class and the folk music class the most. I would always thank the teacher from music engineering who teached me important basics. When I first met, I told him with certainty that I would create forever. On the first day after I finished study, I spent all night long in that empty composing room just doing my own practice and looking for something new. It was a night of lightning and thunder outside the window, but I felt very quiet. Yeah, that's the origin of the "Untitled Nite."

Thanks to all my teachers and it’s lucky to meet so many good teachers in my life everywhere.

Why the title "Untitled"?

VT.inno: I really had no idea about the name at the beginning. This EP wasn't like I usually plan. I like to plan everything and get started. Because I knew it was the right time for me to reform, I just made some new tracks, getting rid of the concrete prompts. I added “1” or other suffix like “(Random)” because it’s a random concept after I finished all the tracks.

Your music has many details. How do you think about layering the different sounds?

VT.inno: One sound can't do miracles, but it can be special to me. I'm not emphasizing the layers of each sound on purpose. I feel like being more concerned with the relationship between different sounds, whether it's rhythm, chords or like a symphony orchestra. It’s important what can make myself and others excited when I face the cold machine.

I also imagine and adjust the texture and space between all the sounds in a track from the start. But for some sounds I also stack naturally without imagining because it's also fun when I feel a causal effect in process. I know it’s time to add special seasonings. I hardly change the sound after. I have the passion to keep going, because that's the sound I want from the beginning when I design it. :)

Anything else you would like people to know about your music?

VT.inno: When I gave Nic my primary demo, Nic also shared with me a good sample pack of references. The suggestions on “Untitled Nite” and “Untitled More” surprised me and thanked Nic a lot. I felt a good relationship and fate when releasing with PCMS. I am vegan too [like Nic].

I never allow myself to be bored. The most important thing is to keep my own attitude. It's best when one step away from perfection. To be moved is better than skills.

Find "Untitled Nite" by VT.inno on Bandcamp.

End.

Next article: dgoHn: Music Production and Projects  ->  Previous article: Dnb Production During Lockdown with Kop-Z

Release date 2022.
More PCMS releases by: VT.inno.
Artwork by Nic Taylor.

PCMS, Pinecone Moonshine (C) 2022.