Opius: Talking Music Production with Ballpark Recordings

Catching up with Opius after the release of "Subterranean Funk"



I signed the half drumfunk, half jungle drum and bass track "Subterranean Funk" more than a year before the Pinecone Moonshines's "Rhythm Section" LP came out. Working with Opius (aka Vinnie) started from a couple demos. I could hear Opius's drum programming was inspired by much of the same breakbeat-focused drum and bass and drumfunk that inspired me.

And there are plenty of drum change ups and edits which just flow in his music, sinking into your head like main hooks in a song.

Opius didn't just show me his music. His own label, Ballpark Recordings, almost monthly showcases various artists making breakbeat drum and bass. The recurring series "Fine Limit Breakz" has introduced me to names like: Krugah, Antares, ED808, and Splinter. And also feature some names I have crossed paths with before such as Fada, Chris Inperspective, Sum, Parallel, and Eschaton.

I wanted to know a bit more about how Opius builds his tracks. Click play and read along:

Where are you based?

Opius: London, United Kingdom

About dnb production

Nic: What software/equipment do you use for your drum and bass?

Opius: Apart from my audio interface and monitor speakers, I'm all software based nowadays using Cubase. Since it was in black and white!

Nic: How did you start making dnb/learn production for dnb?

Opius: I started back in 1996 with a pal who had a home setup. I started on my own in 2001 after buying an audio built PC, Korg Triton, Emu sampler, Spirit desk, Novation A Station, and my first Tannoy speakers. I only upgraded them six years ago when the new model came out.

Nic: Now that you’re mostly in the box software, is producing dnb much different?

Opius: It’s been many years just software based. So tbh it's hard to compare now apart from the obvious of it literally all being just clicks away rather than gliding to and from my old rack on the studio chair, doing the odd spin in mid flight to spice up the short journey. :)

I do miss the likes of my Korg Triton and Novation for tweaking and twisting, though the soft synths are pretty darn good now days.

Nic: You've got drum edits down.

Nic: Re-triggering hits, pitch shifting, automation, change ups... how do you add edits so that they flow with the main rhythm?

Opius: Without being totally aware at the time, I like to go into something with a fresh palette and I program 16 or even 32 bars then edit as it progresses. I do like doing one off edits especially with pitch and glitches.

Nic: And something I noticed is you pull samples from many genres. How do you go about fitting sounds to tracks?

Opius: I just create with anything that I like the sound of or think will fit.

Nic: So how do you go from an idea to a 6 or 7 minute track?

Opius: Sometimes I work on say 16/32 bars for some time, so they have the main full edits. Then I strip it all back and build up to that main section.

Other times I start with 16/32 with main hooks and pads/atmos etc and beats to suit. Then when I'm involuntarily making random movements, mainly with my face, I know I've found the jam/vibe. So then literally roll out, write the track, from there, which can often be in one sitting. Then come back with fresh ears which is of course very important.

Ballpark Recordings

Nic: Maybe I'm a bit naive but when I first saw the baseball reference, I assumed you were American. Is the baseball scene in the UK bigger than we think? Do you follow American baseball?

Opius: Mate if I had a pound (buck haha) for every time I get asked that... It was the first thing SS asked me when I worked with Formation a couple years back. It's based on the saying "smashed it out the ball park." I made it one word "Ballpark" for our use. I know nothing about baseball.

Nic: And how did Ballpark Recordings start up?

Opius: I started BPR in 2017 as there is very little in the digital world regarding the financial side of things (unless of course your Headz or V, etc.). I thought I may as well put some of my own music on my own label and maybe get a lil back for my work efforts. Although obviously not all about the money as there is hardly any. I love what I do... passion ting.

Nic: What kind of artists and music are you looking for on your label?

Opius: Talented and serious about what they do.

Nic: As I understand, Subterranean Funk isn't the only vinyl project you're on that has been part of the excessive manufacturing delays across the industry. Do you have any opinions on vinyl vs digital?

Opius: Only that although it's long af awaiting a vinyl release these days to me. It's much more worth it to have something physical than ultimately a file on a website with a cover picture.

Last bits

Nic: Do you recall how you found out about Pinecone Moonshine?

Opius: By way of searching for the best ass drumfunk out there!!!!

Nic: Thank you. :)

Nic: Anything else you want to tell people about your music?

Opius: Stay tuned I got some bits coming and a head full of fresh ideas...

Nic: Yes, expect to see Opius around; he has a number of releases lined up going into 2023.

Opius hanging out with his puppy.

End.

Next article: Dacamera: An Updated DnB Jazz Aesthetic  ->  Previous article: Who is VT.inno?

Release date 2022.
More PCMS releases by: Opius.

PCMS, Pinecone Moonshine (C) 2022.